Lots of Data, Audacity Crashes

Okay,

I’m very new to recording, both with Audacity and in general. Forgive my basic stupidity.

I have been working on my latest song/project for weeks, and it has ballooned to a very large size. The project file itself isn’t so bad, but the data folder is a whopping 10 GB. This is obviously because I save my audio files at 384,000 Hz.

I am well aware of the fact that I’m pretty much an idiot for saving them at such an unreasonable size, but this is what I have been doing so far. I actually have gotten away with this on many songs, but at a certain point the file has a hard time running.

Before I started recording vocals today, the data folder was only about 2 GB, and it ran fine. But now after many vocal takes of a seven minute song, it is 10. I have plenty of actual room on my hard drive for the time being. But, as I said, the file won’t run very well right now. It is extremely slow upon opening and can’t get through either a full play or a recording. There are many freezes and dropouts, and often the file shuts down entirely.

I would really like to record more vocal takes. I also need to be able to work with the file in order to edit the takes that I have.

I have pretty much learned my lesson not to record at 384,000 Hz anymore in the future. But, what should I do in the present? I have saved previous versions of the project, including one with the full instrumentals but no vocals at all. Do you think I need to go back to this 2 GB version, and start over with the vocals at a lower quality? Is there something I can do to make the project, as it currently exists, more manageable? Would deleting vocal takes help, or would that not matter because they are already in the data folder?