Lost Project

Hi. I’m new to Audacity. Started a project (1 hour podcast), worked on it for a couple hours, saved it and closed it. I did however change the location of the au file at some point. Now, it won’t open. I tried a recovery tool, no luck. Temp files directory is empty…I tried manually putting data folders back where they belong, etc. no luck. Is there anyone I can pay to help me recover my project?
TIA

I did however change the location of the au file at some point

You can probably recover, but don’t do that!, or be very careful!

An Audacity project has a “file structure” with many files. See [u]Managing Audacity Projects[/u]

Also, I recommend exporting your recordings to WAV files immediately after recording. It’s safer. Of course, you can move WAV files around safely (and easily make back-ups) and every WAV file is a single file so it’s less prone to screw-ups. If you want to move or share your files WAV files are better unless you really need to move/share the project.

Depending on what you’re doing you may not even need to make/save a “project”. I rarely do. Sometimes I have several original/source WAV files and a working or final file with those WAVs edited together and I might save the “final” file before it’s complete without saving the project…

I did however change the location of the au file at some point.

You mean the AUP Project Manager file? You can’t do that. Put it back. You can’t change the names, either.

That’s an Audacity Project. They have to be in the same location or folder. They have to have the same name and it has to be the name you gave them inside Audacity.

You can’t put the AUP file inside the _DATA folder.

Sometimes you can rescue a show without the AUP file if it’s a raw performance. The instant you start editing, that’s the end of the world.