logitech usb mic clipping

I’ve used Audacity for a few years but only for general internal audio recording or spoken voice. Now I’m trying to record my jazz big band rehearsals through my laptop. I’m not looking for CD quality, just something decent to rehearse with or possibly even put clips of on my blog. I have just a general Logitech desktop USB mic. I’m pretty new at all this but I couldn’t find much info online or in the forums.

I am getting a huge amount of clipping. The band volume is extremely loud and we’re not mic’ed so I don’t have a board I can plug into.

I’ve brought the input volumes of the mic way down but rather than getting a softer and cleaner signal, I’m actually getting a softer clipped signal. It seems to me that the mic itself simply can’t handle volume that loud. Is that the case? I know this isn’t really what the mic was made for. Again I don’t know all that much about audio recording.

Here’s what it looks like when I have the input volume at %75:

Here’s at ~%50:

If someone can give me some tips, or even a recommendation on an inexpensive (<$50) mic that would work well for just a general recording of our big band that would be great.

Thanks!
Matt

Yeah, you’re clipping at the mic itself. You’ll need a mic that’s capable of picking up much louder sources than that little mic.

Samson makes two of them that will probably work:
http://www.samsontech.com/products/productpage.cfm?prodID=1879
http://www.samsontech.com/products/productpage.cfm?prodID=1810&brandID=2

They’re not quite the price you were looking for, but $50 mics are really poor quality as a general rule. I really urge you to spend at least $80. That’s the price point where quality shoots up disproportionately to price.

Thanks alatham! That really helps.

I did a search on Yahoo Shopping and found quite a few places offering the Q1U for ~$50. The C01U is ~$80, which isn’t prohibitive if it will do what I need.