Linearly increase/reduce intensity

I’m using Audacity 2.4.2 on Windows 10

Hi,

I need to generate some audio stimuli for a psychology experiment and I am really struggling to figure it out myself (I have no prior experience in sound engineering/acoustics or any kind of audio editing…)

Essentially what I am trying to do is create a series of sounds starting from a 5-second 440Hz tone where the intensity/volume of the sound increases or decreases linearly. I am looking to end up with 3 sounds (each 5s long):

1. the tone linearly increases from quiet to loud
  2. the tone linearly decreases from loud to quiet (i.e. the opposite of 1)
  3. a stereo track in which the 1 channel increases (panned left) and the other decreases (panned right) so that you get a left-right type effect when wearing headphones

The goal is then to play the sounds so that there is an exponential change in sound pressure level from 70dB to 55dB (and vice versa) during a sensory perception task.

I have had a go by looking through the documentation and using the envelope tool but I have no idea if I am on the right track at all and this method doesn’t seem like it would be possible to make the increase/decrease actually linear? I have attached a copy of the tone I have been using and my 3 attempts at the sound types.

Basically, my two questions are:

1. Is there a way to create this type of linear change in intensity (i.e. the same rate of change) in a reliable way?
  2. Is there a way to make sure that the sounds would be within the correct spl range at the editing stage? Or is this something that would be controlled by the hardware used for the experiment (i.e. I would need to wait until I can get into the lab with a sound level meter?

Apologies if these are incredibly basic questions and/or very obvious! I am trying to figure this out from home (with no equipment) and absolutely no prior experience :neutral_face: :laughing:

Thank you!

“Generate menu > Tone” (See: Tone - Audacity Manual)