Install of Audacity 2.1.2 for dummies

Two questions regarding installing the new install of Audacity 2.1.2. Will I be able to listen to files that were created with the older system? And do I have to delete the old version of audacity first before downloading the upgraded version? I just upgraded my operating system to OS X 10 version.

Of course Audacity will open projects made in the previous version.

And when installing the new version by dragging it from the disk image (.dmg file) to the Applications folder, the Finder will ask you if you want to replace the old one, or install it next to the old one. In the second case, the Finder will add a 1 to the name of the folder.

Just to add that any option that mentions replace would delete any plugins in the Audacity Plug-ins folder that were not shipped with Audacity. If you see “Merge” or “Keep Newer” that will retain files that are not part of the new installation.

Also in case your previous Audacity was an ancient 1.2 version, 2.1.2 will warn you that it might not open projects created in 1.2 correctly and advise you to back them up first.


Gale