inquiry about audio sample, confused of recorder samples

Good day fellas,

audio programming is interesting and i am a bit on starting to learn some recording and playing and manipulating sample audio samples

I would like to ask some comments or suggestion or answer to my queries.

I have a recorder app, the settings for the recorder is 96000 sampling rate 8 bit wave pcm…mono
first, I am confused, I am getting values like values from -128 to + 127…the data holder is signed char…I am expecting signed waves with 0 in between…
second, I want to try also to filter the recorded value using bandpass filter(http://www.exstrom.com/journal/sigproc/)…
does this sample values that i received has no problem with when I pass it to the filter? or do i need to convert the values?

because after the applying the bandpass filter, it resulted to weird data.

and maybe you have also a quick helpful reference in using bandpass filter with easy C sample code…DSP is a big thing for me, i am newbie here…

http://www.exstrom.com/journal/sigproc/ <<—does this link helpful for bandpass filter?

Signed 8 bit audio should have values between +127 and -128 (see here: Signed number representations - Wikipedia )
For processing in Audacity these values would be converted to a range of +/- 1 in 32-bit float format.

thanks steve…so i need to convert it to -1 to 1 range

my sample data charSamples[ARRAY_SIZE] an array of signed chars
which one i am using below?do I need to subtract 128 from the sample?

floatSamples = (charSamples-128)/32768.0
or
floatSamples = (float)charSamples/32768.0

another question:
is the following code okay for converting float to signed 8 bit? because after
for (int i = 0; i <SampleCount; i++)
charTo = (byte)(128 + ((byte)(floatFrom*(127.0))));

I’ve no idea if you need to convert :wink: I was just saying what happens in Audacity.