How to select "what I see"

Please forgive this dumb question. I’m very new at Audacity, but have used CoolEdit96 for years, and am making the transition. The one thing I can’t decipher from the documentation and can’t figure out is: How do I cause the range of audio that is currently visible to be selected? I often ctrl-e to zoom to a range I have selected, but I can’t find the opposite, that is, selecting what I see using some kind of combo keystroke. I admit that some of the items in the menus are too cryptic for me. I tried double clicking but that selected the whole file. I really need to be able to quickly select what I see without further dragging.

I submitted this prior question but forgot to add “Windows 10, Audacity 2.2.2”. But as it’s in review, I can’t go back to add these two items.

But let me describe the broader need. I have a bunch of lengthy back to back segments in a file where segment 1,3,5, etc need one effect, and 2,4,6, etc need a different effect. Each segment is many minutes long. I need to zoom in close to the spot where segment one changes to segment two. I need to mark that as the start of my selection. Then I must zoom way back to find the end point. I then must zoom in closely on the region where the end point will be. I then need to mark that point as the end of my selection. Once I can accomplish that, which I cannot do without being able to select “what I see”, then I will ctrl-3 to zoom out a bit and see the selected region in content, then I’d apply the effect. You can see that this task requires zooming in, zooming out, and changing one of the end points. Oh, and playing of audio must be done to verify where my selection start and end points should be. Yet when I click on a spot in order to start playing there, my selection highlighting disappears!

Audacity does not have that option, but I would ask; How do you get to the situation where the part that you want to select is exactly the part that is visible?