How To Save Clips To Use For Noise Reduction

I am just learning.

I have amplified the sound on my cellphone recordings but now I have a noise problem - car noise, traffic noise, they were made on the road.

I do a noise reduction and it is good but more needs to be done.

I select some more noise and extract it and find it is too much - the remaining sound is hollow, bad.

But there is still a thread of pure noise. A slender thread now because that previous reduction took away a lot.

I am thinking I want to take that little thread out. Rewind that last extraction and this time extract only this ‘thin thread’.

But how to do that?

I tried to copy the thread, duplicate it, but then when I went to choices I found I couldn’t undo the noise reduction without first undoing the duplicate - so I lose the selection that I was going to use for the noise reduction thing.

I’m assuming I’d be able to do that? Use a clip on a second track to give to the noise reduction function in order to reduce noise on a different track?

Well that was/is my plan.

If it can be done how to do it? Will I have to save that clip to disk and then undo the duplicate and then pick it up off the disk and use it for noise reduction? Is that the way to go?

Or there’s a whole other technique I ought to know about?

Noise reduction is intended to reduce constant, low level noise, such as tape hiss.

Noise that louder and/or varies over time (such as traffic noise) must be avoided because it cannot be removed by software without causing noticeable damage to the remaining sound. You need to re-record somewhere that there isn’t traffic noise, or use a directional microphone close to the thing that you are trying to record so that the relative noise level is acceptably low.

If the performance is relatively even in volume, you might try Noise Gate.

https://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/Nyquist_Effect_Plug-ins#Noise_Gate