Help needed with distorted audio

I’m helping a friend make a video to be posted on YouTube. We recorder her speaking and I mixed that audio with an audio track from a CD using Audacity 1.3.6 on Windows. The audio mixed fine and sounded fine when I added it to the video I made and posted on YouTube. Apparently, I must have had the volume low on my speakers since I didn’t hear a ton of distortion that I heard while viewing the video on a friend’s system.

So, I have loaded that audio file into Audacity 1.3.9 on Ubuntu 9.10 Linux (64-bit) but I’m not sure what the best course of action is to deal with the distortion.

Here is how the MP3 looks when loaded in Audacity 1.3.9:

I don’t know if I just need to reduce the gain or to use the “Normalize” effect or some other tool to reduce the distortion. I’m thinking all the red lines are the problem areas. :slight_smile:

Any advice? I’m new to doing this kind of work so I apologize if I’m not asking my question correctly or using the correct terminology. I can post a link to a snipet of the audio if hearing the distortion would help.

Thanks in advance!

Peace…

You’re doing everything OK, but your timing is off. When Audacity mixes down several tracks to stereo, it just adds them up. It’s not unusual at all to get a ton of overloading and clipping when that happens. You didn’t listen to the final too closely before it posted. As you’re finding out, your exported “client master” had it, too.

The easiest way to get around this is reduce all the tracks by 6dB with the amplify tool before mixdown. Then touch up the levels a bit (if needed) before delivery.

The current show is likely trash, but you can try the Amplify tool to reduce the level. You saved all the original work and Project, right?

Koz

Thanks! Yep, I’ve got the project file saved so I can go back and try this again. :slight_smile:

Peace…

<<<I’ve got the project file saved>>>