Help! 2000-5000 Hz filter

Hi!

I am a graduate student preparing to conduct a research project on emotional reactions to sounds. I need to filter 2000-5000 Hz frequency range from about 140 stimuli. Is there a way I can do this in the Audacity program? I have tried the band-stop plug in, but it doesn’t allow me to put in the upper and lower limit for filtering. Any help is MUCH appreciated!

Thanks!

The desperation method is:

Effect > High Pass Filter
Effect > Low Pass Filter

That will allow you to choose your high and low values and the cut-off slopes.

Try it once with Generate > Noise and then Analyze > Plot Spectrum to see if you get what you want.

I thought Effect > Notch Filter would do that, but it won’t. There’s Band Stop, but I don’t know we have a good pre-baked filter for that.

The values in the filters should stick and you only have to put them in once.

Koz

Thanks for the reply!

I have tried this by applying a low-pass of 2000Hz and a high-pass of 5000Hz. However, it doesn’t seem to actually be cutting out the frequency energy in the range between 2000 and 5000 Hz (as per the spectrogram and the plot spectrum analysis). When listening to the filtered vs. the original, they actually sound pretty much the same except the filtered stimuli sound quieter.

Any other input? I am a novice in this area so your help is very much appreciated!

I need to go play Real Life for a while. More later, or someone else may post.

You should know you are never going to get ruler-flat cuts and passes. Sound doesn’t work like that. You should choose the straightness and steepness of the active area in dB per octave, etc. etc.

For example, 3000Hz is not going to be dead, but it can be made to be 36dB quieter than 2000Hz.

As we go.

Koz

I need to filter 2000-5000 Hz frequency range

I guess you mean filter-out?

You can make a 2kHz low-passed file and a 5kHz high passed file, open them both in the same Audacity project and export to mix the two files.