Frequency change detection

Hi
I am an Orthopaedic surgeon and I came with the following idea.
During a cementless hip replacement, a cromium-cobaltium stem is impacted into the femur. This is done with a few hammer blows. The trick for a successful surgery is to push it as far as it goes without of course breaking the bone.
It is well known amongst senior surgeons that the sound of the hammer blow onto the tool that holds the stem during insertion “changes” and when the ear of a senior surgeon detects this sound “change” he usually stops. Of course this is not the only factor he takes into account to decide whether to stop or not.
Nevertheless I thought it is worth documenting this sound change. I bought a tascam dr-07 recorder and recorded the operation in high quality audio. I tried analyzing the frequency of each hammer blow by selecting the short clip which covers each blow and choosing plot spectrum in Audacity. What I expected was to see a clear trend in the frequency of the sound with the highest db in each consecutive blow. That is because the mass of the stem becomes more “integrated” into the mass of the femur and thus the sound response should be that of a lower frequency sound.
I am a little lost here and clearly far away from my area of expertise.
I attach a sound clip. If anyone has an idea or sees something I am missing any feedback would be highly appreciated.
http://www.mediafire.com/file/108xicls2c018vx/forum.wav
Here is a photo of the stem itself http://aliasdesignstesting.co.uk/hips.aspx?pid=3

First, the answer to the question you didn’t actually ask, Audacity doesn’t do anything in real time except record and play and some very minor timing functions, so no, you can’t use that to tell you about the progression.