Feedback Request on Sample Recording for Audiobook

Hello - Hoping for tips from this forum’s expert ears. My voice isn’t at its best after consuming tomato sauce, but hopefully it’s enough to say if the room tone, levels, etc would be alright before I continue. Used a Zoom H1n, gain knob around 5, no other presets turned on.

The background sounded a bit buzzy to me with headphones, but maybe the audiobook mastering effects would take care of it?

I’m new to the H1n, so possibly also some user error there. I had it set to record in 96kHz/24-bit and then moved the file into Audacity from the microSD card to export as WAV (Microsoft) signed 16-bit PCM. Recorded in a small closet with blankets and pillows surrounding all surfaces with a laptop (no fan sounds from it) to read from and a lamp that seemed to be silent to me.

Thank you for any feedback!

First observations: My H1n volume control, that little rotary knob up near the microphones, seems to be happy at 9. The sample is very low volume.

To give you a better idea of your job, you’re playing three people. The Producer, the Recording Engineer, and the Performer/Artist.

The Producer makes the global decisions (which platform should we shoot for and submit to), decides whether or not to end sentences with prepositions, signs the checks, and hires the other two.

The Recording Engineer knows about soundproofing a room and how to drive the microphone and recorder. They define performer actions, position, spacing, and volumes.

The Artist/Performer knows how to interpret the work and read it in an entertaining, pleasant, and accurate manner. They show up to the studio just before the recording, do the work, and go home.

I applied Audiobook Mastering followed by a slightly stiff Noise Reduction (9, 6, 6) and the submission passes ACX standards.

Screen Shot 2024-03-16 at 9.26.20 AM