Enable silent monitoring is auto-disabled - why?

Hello,
The ‘Enable Silent Monitoring’ is auto-disabled. Can we set it permanently?
Thanks,

Basically no, sorry.

The Monitoring is intended as a pre-record tool to enable correct input settings to be made prior to making a recording.

It actually gets turned off once you record (or playback) - in fact it gets turned off when you stop the recording.


Many years ago, long before Muse took over the project, there was some discussion about whether monitoring should be “always on” or not but that idea got abandoned - and I can’t for the life of me remember the reasoning now, sorry.

But, personally, I wouldn’t want my recording meters busily flashing away in multi-colours while I was busy doing other things like editing, as I would find that distracting.

Peter