Conversion Quality

I’m new to Audacity and the whole “A-to-D” process. I’m using an AR Turntable with a moving coil (MC) cartridge, which drove me to use my Carver C-1 preamp (MC section) with the RCA outputs hooked up to a Behringer UCA202 interface. I’m using the latest version of Windows 10.

I’ve followed the Audacity Sample workflow for LP digitization and have successfully generated .wav and .mp3 files of albums using recommended default quality settings. When I do an “A/B” comparison of the original phono-preamp sound and the 32-bit .wav file (played back through the same preamp and headphones), there is a notable loss of audio depth/fullness. Is this what I should expect from the prescribed A-D process? Any suggestions for improving the conversion quality?

Thanks!

Any suggestions for improving the conversion quality?

Buy the CD or MP3 (if it’s available). :stuck_out_tongue:

Is this what I should expect from the prescribed A-D process?

No. It should sound identical.* It’s possible to get noise into a USB-powered interface (through the USB power) but it’s rarely an issue with line-level inputs. Microphone & phono preamp circuits are more sensitive to noise. preamps actually generate some noise, but the worst noise is almost always from the record itself. And you didn’t mention noise.

Of course, use “CD quality” (16-bit, 44.1kHz) or better.** Audacity uses 32-bit floating-point “internally” for technical reasons but the Behinger is “only” 16-bits. I don’t know of any 32-bit analog-to-digital converters. There are some 32-bit digital-to-analog converters but even 24-bit converters aren’t accurate to 24-bits.