Compiling 2.2.2 in Windows 10 for use with ASIO

Hi experts!

So, I’ve been trying to follow the instructions to compile Audacity 2.2.2 for use with ASIO and am failing miserably.

I’ve cloned Audacity, wxWidgets (patched and unpatched) 3.1.1 and downloaded ASIO from Steinberg. Initially I downloaded the zips and found that there were directories missing which caused errors in the builds. 1 problem solved.
I’m using VS 2017 Community to build. Build is in release mode, SDK is windows 10 so I specified this in the configuration options, also using v141 toolset.

wxWidgets has built successfully, so on to Audacity. This hasn’t been so successful!

Soooo many errors stating “nonstandard extension used: ‘[extension]’ keyword only supported in C++, not C” and some syntax errors.

I’m no dev by trade and would push to call myself a hobbyist, so I understand concepts and basic principles. This seems to me as though I have some config wrong somewhere.

Be gentle :laughing:

If I recall correctly, Audacity 2.2.2 requires WxWidgets 3.0.2, and instructions for patching and building Wx3.02 are included in the /win/compile.txt file.

I wouldn’t recommend building Audacity 2.3.0 alpha at this time, as there are significant changes to the build process which are not yet documented.

Thanks for the quick response Steve - I did wonder about the compatibility with 3.1.1.

I’ll give it a go with 3.0.2 and report back.