"Change Tempo" sometimes does not remember previous setting

Hi, this is driving me crazy. On Windows 7 using 2.1.0

I often make a selection, specify a new length, and then “cancel” and make a larger selection, copy and paste it to a new track, and apply the percentage from the cancelled operation to the larger selection.

SOMETIMES “change tempo” will remember the percentage from the cancelled operation and that is highly desirable! Otherwise I have to memorize the percentage given and enter it manually.

I don’t understand why this works correctly for a while and then stops. Is there some toggle or keyboard shortcut I’m using inadvertently?
Thanks.

Try updating to the current 2.3.2 version of Audacity. It is available via the Audacity website: https://www.audacityteam.org/download/windows/