Can I do minor edits without re-encoding lossy files?

Hi all! This is my first post here but I’ve been a looong time user of audacity. Before 1.0 if I remember correctly. I’m not an audio engineer or anything, i just use it to random tasks. I do minor edits to my mp3 collection particularly when making mixes for my buddies. I’ve also used it to make some sound effects for the open source game Battle for Wesnoth. I’ve also used it to record the opening credits song off of my Dead Man DVD which wasn’t included in the Dead Man soundtrack. (It’s the only song in the whole movie that can stand on its own without the film so I found it ridiculous that it was the only song not on the CD, but now I’m really digressing…) Anywho, before I ask my question I wanted to thank you all for making this excellent piece of software that has been invaluable to me, from when I first discovered it as a windows user to right now on my Ubuntu system. Audacity may very well be the first piece of open source software I used and it has shown me the light!