bad sound

I dl a song after paying for it from Wal-Mart. Going to use it in a family slide show. Used Audacity to join it with a few other songs from my cd collection. I am using AudioGrabber to rip them. Well, all except the Wal-MArt dl. Everything works great in my slide making program, PTE. When I try to burn to a dvd the dl song sounds garbled. The songs I riped play fine. Is there something that Wal-Mart does that would effect the playing on a dvd? I’m new to all this! Thanks for any help!

Bob W.

Forgot to mention I did dl an mp3 and not a wma.

Make sure that all the tracks are wav format - Audio CD’s need wav files, not mp3’s.
You can export from Audacity as wav.

(Also make sure that you select “Audio CD” in your CD burning software).

Thanks for the reply. THis is for a slide show and the format it calls for is mp3. Wav’s are too big I believe.

Sorry, my mistake, I mis-read it and thought you were making a CD :blush:

Yes, wav files take up more room than mp3’s, usually about 8 times more, depending on how much compression you use.
Your slide show program (PTE? what’s that?) may only accept certain types of mp3.

MP3s can be variable bit rate, or constant bit rate, they can have different bit depth, and then there’s mp3 pro. Since the rest of your tracks work, Export the Walmart download as 16 bit 44100 Hz wav after you have edited it, then convert it to mp3 in the same way as you converted the other files (using AudioGrabber?). If you are using LAME with AudioGrabber, you can use LAME directly from Audacity, just make sure that you use exactly the same settings as you used for the other tracks (the ones that work).

Good luck.

I checked in Audacity and the dl from Wal-Mart says 44100HZ and the ripped from cd’s say 22050HZ. Keep in mind I am new at this. If the difference is the problem how would I go about changing them to make them the same?

Thanks!!