Avoid creating the backup file when export overwrites existing file

Hi guys,

Windows 10 here. I drag a wavefile into Audacity, normalize it. Then, I export the file overwriting the existing file. Always, when
I do this, Audacity creates a backup-file that is simply a copy of the original one. Can I avoid this? I checked the settings but did not find an appropriate option.

Regards

Try upgrading to Audacity 3.1.3 (Available here: https://www.audacityteam.org/download/)