Audacity Froze in the middle of my project

Hello~
I have been using Audacity 3.05 and I’m in the middle of an audiobook project. Right in the middle of this project, Audacity stopped recording. It won’t even play back what I’ve recorded.
I’ve Quit Audacity and brought it back up to no avail!

I’m starting to panic because my deadline for this project is NOW and I don’t know how to get Audacity running again!
I’m not that tech savvy, so my trouble shooting abilities are limited without guidance!

Thanks!
Bliss Wood

my deadline for this project is NOW

Maybe not any more. We are going to be troubleshooting this step-by-step over multiple time zones, so it’s probably not a good assumption that this is going to be fast.

Sometimes Jademan can look at your crashed project and bring some of it back to life.

Sometimes not.

I need to drop for a while.

Koz

You didn’t kill the book, you just killed the last chapter you were working on, right?

First Book? There are some First-Time-Rules about the first book.

When you read a chapter and get to the end, File-Export the chapter as a perfect quality stand-alone WAV file. Fluffs, boo-boos, mistakes and all. That’s your backup if something really nasty happens, you can open a copy of the backup and start over without having to go find the microphone again.

There are rules about filenames. Here’s a piece I wrote earlier.

Filename Hygiene
2021-12-12

Filenames can cause problems because not all printable characters are acceptable to all computers.

You can go all week on your computer creating files for your client or job only to have a Hindenburg Event when you actually try to send the work.

Use Upper Case Letters, lower case letters, numbers, -dash- and underscore. That’s it. Those characters are safe in filenames.

Being professionally obsessive, I don’t use spaces, either.

SchwarzeneggerChat-CafeMilan-20211202-Noon.wav