audacity 1.3.8 // compilation error

hello

i am getting the following error when trying to compile audacity 1.3.8:

./configure: line 1883: syntax error near unexpected token taglib,1.4' ./configure: line 1883: AM_INIT_AUTOMAKE(taglib,1.4)’
configure: error: ./configure failed for lib-src/taglib

has anyone else run into this or know what i can do to get audacity to compile?

i am using ubuntu 8.04, lenovo T61 laptop. i’ve had no problems compiling audacity 1.3.7.

thanks for any help!

I’m no expert on this, but in the absence of any other suggestions, check which versions of libtag you have installed.
I’m on Ubuntu 9.04 and have the following:

libtag1c2a version 1.5-3
libtag1-dev version 1.5-3
libtagc0 version 1.5-3
libtagc0-dev version 1.5-3

Also I compile with these options:

./configure --prefix=/usr/ --program-suffix=-alpha

The prefix /usr/ makes Audacity install in the same directories that Ubuntu uses by default.

Adding the suffix “-alpha” means that I can have the latest greatest version of Audacity (built from the CVS source code) as well as the standard repo version (1.3.7). After running “make” and “sudo make install”, the new version of Audacity appears in the “Applications > Sound and Video” menu ad “Audacity alpha”.

The plug-ins folder will be in /usr/share/audacity-alpha/
It is probably a good idea to set the permissions of that folder so that you can write to it. This will enable you to easily add plug-ins for Audacity without needing to sudo.

Oh yes, another tip - when you have successfully run “make”, double click on the Audacity executable and check that it works OK before you bother installing it.

If you want to try out the cvs code (which I would recommend), open a Terminal window and use this command

cvs -d:pserver:anonymous@audacity.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/audacity checkout audacity