Noise Gate MIA?

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of OS X you are using, the exact three-section version of Audacity from Audacity > About Audacity and whether you obtained the .dmg installer or the zip.

Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Noise Gate MIA?

Permanent link to this post Posted by The Gigmeister » Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:09 pm

I am using Audacity version 2.1.3 on my mid 2010 iMac running Sierra and enjoying the software. I used the .dmg installer when installing it. However, I need the noise gate and have downloaded it, paced it into the correct folder and tried activating it under the Add/Remove plug ins menu . It doesn't show up and it's ruining some otherwise great sounding recordings! Any suggestions? I even tried un installing it and wasn't able to delete all the old plug ins. Is a complete reinstall a good idea? How can I get the noise gate to come in and save the game? Thanks in advance.
The Gigmeister
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:01 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Noise Gate MIA?

Permanent link to this post Posted by billw58 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:13 pm

We need details ...

Where did you download it from? Did you get it from http://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/Nyquist_Effect_Plug-ins#Noise_Gate ?
What is the file extension? Is the file named "noisegate.ny"
What do you mean by "the correct folder"? Did you put it in ~/Library/Application Support/audacity/Plug-ins ?

-- Bill
billw58
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 am
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Noise Gate MIA?

Permanent link to this post Posted by The Gigmeister » Mon Sep 25, 2017 7:23 pm

The file is named correctly. However, my Mac can't find the folder. Or there is nothing in it. How do I get to the folder? Entering the line in the Finder window reveals nothing there. Should I try a re install of the program? The last time it didn't un install properly. Suggestions? Thanks in advance.
The Gigmeister
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:01 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Noise Gate MIA?

Permanent link to this post Posted by billw58 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 7:35 pm

Note that the folder you want to find is

~/Library/Application Support/audacity

NOT

/Library/Application Support/audacity

Note the "~" character at the start - it's important.

Click on the "Go" menu in the finder.

Select "Go to folder..."

In the dialog, type ~/Library/Application Support/audacity then click the "Go" button.

First you said "placed it into the correct folder" but then you said "my Mac can't find the folder". One of these statements is incorrect.

Re-installing will not help.

-- Bill
billw58
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 am
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Noise Gate MIA?

Permanent link to this post Posted by The Gigmeister » Mon Sep 25, 2017 9:07 pm

I just found the folder and placed the Noisegate.ny item in the folder. I also went to the program and the add/remove plug ins menu and tried activating it without success. What is the precise line of code in the Menu? I have another noise gate item in there as well and need the exact line description to activate it correctly. Thanks Bill.
The Gigmeister
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:01 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Noise Gate MIA?

Permanent link to this post Posted by billw58 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 9:58 pm

EnableEffect.png
EnableEffect.png (90.69 KiB) Viewed 393 times


Click on the effect, then the "Enable" button, then OK.

-- Bill
billw58
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 am
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Noise Gate MIA?

Permanent link to this post Posted by The Gigmeister » Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:42 am

Got it. Thanks very much!
The Gigmeister
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:01 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Noise Gate MIA?

Permanent link to this post Posted by garyr » Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:42 am

So I've done that--I see the effect I want in the "new" category, I click "enable" and it still doesn't appear in the effects list.

Background--I recently updated from 2.1 to 2.2.0 and the noisegate, de esser, and de clicker disappeared from the menu. And I've spent the better part of an entire day trying to figure out what happened, what folder the .ny effects have to go into. And I can see them now (they're in a lot of folders that I've tried); but they don't appear in the effects pulldown menu even when I've enabled them.
I even downloaded 2.2.1 and tried it to see if the problem I was having was one that got fixed. One of the threads I had found about the noisegate was suspended and no reason given so I thought maybe it was being addressed with an update.

and Noise Gate is MIA, and so are de esser and de clicker.
Thanks in advance.
garyr
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 9:51 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Noise Gate MIA?

Permanent link to this post Posted by garyr » Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:45 am

10.13.1 is my operating system, if that matters. (And I hope it doesn't.) :D
garyr
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 9:51 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Noise Gate MIA?

Permanent link to this post Posted by Trebor » Wed Dec 06, 2017 6:45 am

garyr wrote:So I've done that--I see the effect I want in the "new" category, I click "enable" and it still doesn't appear in the effects list ... I recently updated from 2.1 to 2.2.0 and the noisegate, de esser, and de clicker disappeared from the menu. And I've spent the better part of an entire day trying to figure out what happened, what folder the .ny effects have to go into...

If you find and rename these Audacity files : "pluginregistry.cfg" & "pluginsettings.cfg",
(to , say, "pluginregistry-old.cfg" "pluginsettings-old.cfg" )
new versions will be created when you restart Audacity, then hopefully you'll get access to all the plugins.

[ If this doesn't solve the problem, delete the new versions of those two Audacity files, then remove "-old" from the names of the old versions to get back to where you were ].
Trebor
 
Posts: 4027
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Next

Return to Mac OS X



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests