Silence Injection on Clipping - possible?

Narrating and Producing Audiobooks.

ImageIf you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like

Silence Injection on Clipping - possible?

Permanent link to this post Posted by Adamaeus » Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:16 pm

Hiya. I've been using Audacity to produce audiobooks for the past two years, at a nice little profit to myself. I appreciate the hard work that's been put into creating this program. I especially like the Truncate Silence function, which is a huge help to me because I'm one of those miserable people who likes to take their time. There may be five, or six, seconds between each sentence I read; being able to neatly bring it all together is a huge help.

In most narratives, there are pauses, here and there; page breaks, sub-headings, and the like. Typically, what I do is clap once, very hard, to force the audio to clip; this tells me, when looking at the wave-form, where I need to inject a two-second pause.

But I wonder, is it possible to automate this process? So that, where the application recognizes an instance of clipping, it injects a second of silence on either side of the clipped audio? I'm really not that technical so I can't be sure if it's even possible, but just thought I'd drop it out there.

Thanks.
Adamaeus

Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Silence Injection on Clipping - possible?

Permanent link to this post Posted by Trebor » Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:03 am

Adamaeus wrote: ... what I do is clap once, very hard, to force the audio to clip; this tells me, when looking at the wave-form, where I need to inject a two-second pause ...
But I wonder, is it possible to automate this process? So that, where the application recognizes an instance of clipping, it injects a second of silence on either side of the clipped audio? I'm really not that technical so I can't be sure if it's even possible