Recording levels

Hi everyone, I’m new to Audacity and I’ve been fiddling with the acx plug in that allows you to check if it passes. Without fail, I always seem to be just missing the RMS check. I’m always anywhere from 26-32. Is there any way to just set all the levels I need before I start recording so it just meets all the specifications I need? When I turn up the gain I pass the RMS but fail the noise floor check. I’m using a Blue Yeti Pro, if that helps with info and I use a macbook with the latest operating system.

If anyone is so kindly willing to walk me through the process of setting all the acx levels I need, I would be so eternally grateful, or pointing me in the right direction. I’ve read so many other posts but fear they are above my head at one point or another.

Thank you so much, I really appreciate any and all feedback and help.

:slight_smile:

The short answer is no, and your experience is perfectly normal.

We recommend peaks at about -6dB on the bouncing light sound meters and 50% on the blue waves as you record (they measure the same thing different ways). That’s so you have room to screw up by getting too loud or too soft. Too loud in particular is a problem. If you go over 100% or 0dB, with your voice, that will create distorted crunchy sounds and they’re permanent. You lose.

So right away, that makes you different from ACX standards which has sound peaks bumping around -3dB or so.

You have one strike against you immediately. Very few people pass ACX cleanly and easily with a USB microphone. In order to smash microphone, preamp, mixer, power supplies and USB digital conversion into one convenient, inexpensive package, they had to take shortcuts. One of the shortcuts is low volume. You may find that it’s really difficult to overload the microphone with your voice. That’s by design. From above, overload produces permanent distortion, so, much better to go low volume and fix it later.