Please help :) How can i make my podcast sound warmer

Hi all,

I’ve recently started a new job in marketing and one of my roles is to edit our company podcasts. I’ve some experience recording my DJ mixes on audacity but non really sound editing with the program. I’ve been working away on the podcasts and have been doing the following:

Noise reduction
Levelling
Equalisation - Bass boost
Normalise
Compress
Normalise

It’s sounding ok but my boss wants the grating high ends removed. With the podcast recorded with a mac speaker and over skype this is gonna be hard, any suggestions would be welcome. Here’s a link to the podcast i’m working on now. Again any help would be much appreciated.

https://soundcloud.com/user-910706127/ad-joe-burridge-podcast-mixdown/s-jqSI0

Thanks Audacity community.

Liam

Skype is the bare-bones of speech. Not a lot can be done to put flesh back on it,
apart from amplify the most-skeletal parts of the spectrum with an equalizer …
waveform & spectrogram views of ''joe-burridge-podcast'', before-after equalization & compression.png

Installing a real-time equalizer plugin into Audacity helps speed up the process of equalization.
Here are two free ones which work in Audacity …
http://www.voxengo.com/product/marvelgeq/
http://www.tokyodawn.net/tdr-nova/

Also see my response to the copy of this posting you also made. It’s a terrifically bad idea to double post.

The forum elves see all the postings, so the only thing double posting does is muddy the responses.

Koz

Thanks for the help everyone, sorry about the double post its my first time on the forum and i didn’t see that posts needed approving by moderators so when my first post didn’t go up immediately I though something went wrong, i didn’t actually post it or something.

Thanks though.

Liam

You’re the odd duck with two different valid questions with the same post. I had to go lie down for a while.