Muffle voice recording

Can this recording be saved or at least improved? Being a audio Newbie, I don’t know.

It was recorded over a wireless mic. I don’t know the brand, but my friend who recorded it, doesn’t skimp on equipment and he has used it before without a problem. We did a voice check before and all was fine. My guess is the mic somehow got tangled in my shirt causing the muffling. After doing some internet searching and attempting some repairs using some different equalizations and some high pass filtering I achieved some minor improvement.

Final realization: I realize the this recording is likely beyond saving and definitely beyond anything close to perfection, the old garbage in-garbage out. I was hoping that someone who works with voice and uses Audacity on a regular basis, might be able to offer some suggestions.

Thanks.

(muffled.wav attached)

I can’t listen right this second, but I do have some notes. Mr. Moneybags may have opted for one of the very high-end directional lavalier microphones.

Terrific microphones, but they come with rules. The are required to mount right-side up. It’s not optional. If you mount them any other way, you can get badly muffled or no sound at all.

I bet that sounds like what you have, right? There is a reason to use these mics. The allow you to shoot video in some stunningly bad conditions.

There was a TV show called “Secrets Of NY.” They shot a presenter in Grand Central at rush and he was perfectly clear and natural. You can’t hear people standing next to you under those conditions. In a later show, they made a similar mistake to yours and all was revealed.

Koz

Here we are at home with the big kids. It’s not just muffled. It’s also very highly distorted after I got rid of most of the cotton wool.

So your feeling is right. It’s trash.