Recording In Mono Question

I am still fairly new to podcast, I have been doing it for 11 months now. I started out recording with the ATR 2100 USB/XLR microphone. I recently upgraded to the Shure SM7B.
I have the Shure SM7B plugged into a preamp and then the preamp runs to my USB Interface.
When recording, the mic does not record in stereo like my other one, which is no biggie. The question I have is: why does Audacity cap my audio at -6 DB when recording in mono? Is that a setting I can change?

“Audacity” doesn’t. It’s a quirk of the way that some sound card drivers behave.

The official answer is to set Audacity to record 2 channel stereo, then when you finish, split the track to 2 mono channels and delete the empty channel. However, although that will work, I’d suggest that you try something else first…

Go into the Windows Sound Control Panel, find your USB interface in the Recording tab, and see if it is set to mono or stereo.
There is also the mono/stereo option in the device toolbar.
That gives 4 possible combinations.
Try all of them. The one that should definitely work is having both set to stereo, but then you will need to split the track each time as described, so it would be nice if one combination gives you a full level mono track.

Let me know how you get on.

I will try those when I get home. Thank you.

Which preamp and which USB interface? I didn’t think the USB service did that. USB doesn’t go through the soundcard.

Koz

I have the Shure SM7B connected to a dbx 286S Microphone Preamplifier. The dbx then goes to a Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 2nd Gen USB Audio Interface. The dbx can connect through either XLR Male to 1/4-Inch TRS Male or 1/4" TRS to 1/4" TRS Balanced cable.

The 2i4 thinks it should be in stereo and it’s happy there. If you set Audacity (and Windows) to record in Stereo, I expect everything to work perfectly with your voice on, say, Left and nothing on Right. I expect the -6dB volume limit to vanish. Does it?