Audio Finishing for Best, Most Even Sound

Hello,

I make Youtube gaming let’s plays, and this is not the first time I have asked for help on the Audacity boards, about specific things, but this is my first time on the podcasting subforum, as gaming LPs are essentially podcasts and have from an audio perspective the same elements.

First off, I am not asking for a miracle or how to have “radio announcer” voice. I am simply looking for the best way to present my own voice in a natural way.

My current post-processing set up is: 1) Noise removal highlighting an area without voice. As far as I can tell the settings I use here does not harm my audio. 2) Next, I use the exemplary de-clicker tool by Paul L which I love. Spent a lot of time tweaking it to suit my needs. I’m sure it distorts the sound in some way but it still sounds great to me in Audacity up to this point. Both of these things are necessary for me. I unfortunately have computer fan noise and mouth clicks that I cannot otherwise remove.

At this point I’m not sure of what I should be doing. My main goal that I am trying to achieve is loudness, evenness, and clarity. Speaking for 20-25 minutes at a time there is no way to prevent myself from going soft in some parts and loud in others, so a 3) compressor is as far as I know necessary. I also 4) normalize, and 5) do a very minor EQ where I raise the bass by about 3db and lower the high treble by about the same.

My mic gain is set pretty low so my initial waveform is pretty tiny. On the scale from 1 to -1 it honestly looks to go from about 0.1 to -0.1. Youtube tutorials would have me normalize, compress, equalize, and then normalize again. This is successful in that my volume is even and loud and clear. The problem is that it also sounds a bit mechanical and there is a bit of a metallic hum occasionally at the beginning of my words, almost a high buzz.