New Podcast 2 USB Microphones, No Interface...HELP

Hi Guys!

Im brand new to the podcast word and along with my mate, we are planning on recording our first podcast this weekend. Its a talkshow style show where 2 of us will feature every episode and we have a 3rd mic for the occassional guest. We have 3 XLR microphones and I have just gone out and purchased XLR to USB adapters only to find out that in order to record multi track we also need an audio interface? (Got a bit excited and didn’t research enough before walking into Maplins…Hiding the receipts from the missus LOL).

Anyhow, all the interfaces I have seen online have quarter inch inputs but I was hoping for something that was a mix between a USB hub and interface, so that I could plug all three USB mics into the hub and run from this into my laptop?

My question is please can someone advise me on the a decent interface that I can pick up for quite cheap that I can plug the USB mics straight into OR would it be better/cheaper for me to ditch the USB adapters and use an interface that i plug the standard quarter inch jacks into?

Thanks in advance guys ;o)

You can force a computer to manage two USB microphones badly, but not three. Your description of the show practically demands a small sound mixer.

Before I dig in, please know that if you go this way, you will record a Mixed Show. All the voices on one sound file. There is no going back later to spruce up one of the three voices. Audacity can’t split a mixed performance into the original performers.

This is how I do it. That’s a small, four-microphone sound mixer, but it’s entirely analog. I use a small Analog/USB adapter to get into the computer. That’s the little box in the middle. On a Mac, I don’t need the adapter because my Mac has the digital adapter built-in.

The mixer is about $120 USD. I’ve shot some very good stuff that way. This is a broadcast radio show I shot. The microphone is different, but everything else is the same.