HELP!! How To Cut Up The Core VO?

Howdy :wink:

Im adding a basic podcast to my consulting practice, I view more as offering chapters of an audiobook to my list because Im not really a podcaster (I know thats a huge thing) and really dont want to be. Its just a really nice way to break some of my public speaking content into bite sized pieces. I say all this to say, Im not savvy on podcasting although I am an experienced editor on Final Cut Pro for film. Sound production has proven a tad more tricky, not my wheelhouse.

Ok, so I finally have a decent recording, one file that runs about 25 minutes. It been processed and edited, so Im now ready to add the above items. I was able to use the move tool for this large track no problem, to align it well with my intro. Awesome! A few minutes after my opening is my first chapter, which I have a stinger for. I need to cut the large core VO file up and move the right hand piece to the right.

So the podcast begins with a fade down intro, my large 25 minute file is moved a little to the right to time all that well and then a few minutes in, I announce chapter one. Right after that, I need to cut to core long vo file and move it to the right so my stinger, on track three, can be blended in.

To accomplish this in the past, I swear that what I did was (a) EDIT>CLIP BOUNDARIES>SPLIT and then just use time shift tool to move the piece to the right of the split whereveer I wanted it. Well, either I imagined that or somehow I locked down my core track one file, because that process is no longer working.

HELP! What I am doing wrong? Many thanks!
Bob

I got it! I basically need to highlight a section of the clip with the selection tool THEN use to shift tool. My bad! :astonished: