Equipment to record and podcast seminar presentation

Hi,

I’m looking for some advice on the best portable recorder & microphone combination to use to record a seminar presentation for audio podcasting.

Currently, a Zoom H2 without external mic is used for this purpose. The sound has been pretty good and it’s not intrusive - the speakers forget that it is there and get on with the presentation - but the device has, apparently, developed a ‘buzz’ and needs quite a bit of post-production to resolve. I’m no audio expert, but speech sound a little ‘distant’ on the H2 (it’s just laid on the table in front of the presenter currently) and I think a dedicated mic would capture a better sound.

We could just get a Zoom H2n, which seems to have similar audio quality to the H2. It’s good value but, ideally, I’d like something a little better.

Based upon my own research, I’d like to get an Audio Technica AT803b lavalier microphone and hook it up to a Zoom H5 (this would cost about 500 euro/$570 USD/£360 GBP). I think as presenters can’t be guaranteed to speak correctly into a microphone on a stand and will be pretty stationary this might be the best option.

Having the ability to record using the internal mics of the Zoom H5 is an important consideration for joint presentations, workshops, or in case the lavalier mic ever develops problems.

Any opinions on the quality of either the Zoom H5 or the AT803b, or suggestions of superior alternatives (at a similar price point), would be very welcome.

Thanks

The Zoom H5 and the AT mic both are fine. I just wonder if you’ll use the four tracks the Zoom H5 is capable of recording?

Maybe a Zoom H2n or so and a pair of lavs would be better?

I would get one omni lav and a cardio one. In quiet, big rooms you could use the omni, in less great acoustical environments the cardio.

Thanks for the help.

Would a Zoom H2n take an xlr lavalier microphone? That’s the only reason for preferring the H4n or H5 over the H2n.