Podcasting with different types of Mics

Hey all,

New to the forum. I have some previous podcasting experience but I am ready to get back in the game. What I learned from my previous stint is hardware matters. So of course I am looking for the most economical way to get started.

I believe I have chosen an appropriate mixer(a Behringer Q802USB Premium 8-Input 2-Bus found at http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008O517IC/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A3DWYIK6Y9EEQB) and a decent mic (a Audio-Technica ATR2100-USB Cardioid Dynamic USB/XLR Microphone, found http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004QJOZS4/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A3DWYIK6Y9EEQB). I intend to primarily use the mic as an XLR with the mixer. My question concerns adding a second podcaster.

My understanding is with another XLR mic I can simply plug that in and control the level through the mixer. The reason for my question is that my fellow podcaster invested last year in a Blue Yeti mic that is strictly USB. Rather than fork over another $60 for a second Audio-Tecnica mic, I would like to put my brother’s $100+ investment to use.

Bottom line, is it possible to use one XLR mic plugged into a USB mixer, and one USB mic directly plugged into a second port in my computer? Would I be able to treat the two as separate audio tracks for editing purposes?

Thanks in advance. I apologize for any poor choice of vocabulary as I am new at this. Also if anyone sees any glaring holes in my thought process or product choices PLEASE speak up.

You can probably force that to work with a Windows software package such as VoiceMeeter

VoiceMeeter http://vb-audio.pagesperso-orange.fr/Voicemeeter/

I believe you can get separate track with that, read the instructions carefully.

But.