FM recording tips?

I’ve been doing some experiments recording FM radio using Audacity. The other day I made a seven hour recording, converted it to MP3 format automatically and it seemed to be a success. Although I have not had a chance to listen to it.

The other day I dug out this little device I had purchased 20 years ago from Wal-Mart called a GeoTek PCFM radio. I’m not sure why I bought it at the time. I guess it was a novelty item I had just bought my first PC (although I had been fooling with Commodores since the early 1980s) and found it cool.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/PCFM-YOUR-COMPUTER-RADIO-POWER-FREE-PLUG-AND-PLAY-FM-RECEIVER-FOR-MULTIEDIA-PC/202199607490?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649

There are PCI card and USB devices like this but I believe this was one of the first of it’s kind. The software will run as far back as Windows 3.1 and runs fine on XP. It plugs into the parallel port or COM port using an adapter. The output wire connects to the LINE-In jack on the sound card. The instructions say it won’t work without a sound card but I suspect you could plug a set of amplified speakers into the LINE-IN port on the radio and it would work. I haven’t tested this.

The software has the capability of recording and saving as a WAV file, however I can’t get it to record anything. It’s just as well because it says there is only 925KB of free space to record despite having a 1 TB hard drive.

So anyway I wanted to see if running it along side Audacity would work. Sure enough it works.

I realize when you do any kind of audio compression, the sound quality can suffer. I’m trying to figure out the best way to record seven hours of music and get it onto a 2 GB sound card without the sound quality sounding like garbage.