AutoTune with GSNAP missing left hand waveforms

For Musicians to Share Their Music, Tips, Tricks and Reviews.

ImageIf you require help using Audacity, please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system:
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like

AutoTune with GSNAP missing left hand waveforms

Permanent link to this post Posted by rickmilan » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:24 pm

1. GSnap visual representation of pitch source and tuned missing waveforms:

Just install the GSnap plugin and it is working except the left hand side of the GSnap settings window does not show ANY before and after waveforms correction hints. (red and green waveforms)
I have tried selecting the 12 the buttons (so all green = on I assume)
The left hand part of the image looks a rotated keyboard. Maybe this allows you to limit the enabled snap notes.
But with all selected NO waveforms like the user manual shows. I attached 2 examples of my results vs
1 image from the GSnap user manual.

Using Windows 7, Audacity 2.1.2, GSmapwin32 (dll of 5/14/2015)

Any advice would be appreciated.

2. Had any had any success with the GSnap MIDI input snap? Just want to know before I buy a laptop interface
since I saw one post saying it might not work on some systems.
Attachments
12 buttons on.JPG
all 12 buttons on (green)
12 buttons on.JPG (89.21 KiB) Viewed 366 times
12 buttons X.JPG
all 12 off or X
12 buttons X.JPG (91.37 KiB) Viewed 366 times
gsnap user guide shows waveforms on left side and highlited text definition at bottom of image.JPG
user manual example
gsnap user guide shows waveforms on left side and highlited text definition at bottom of image.JPG (135.65 KiB) Viewed 366 times
rickmilan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:57 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: AutoTune with GSNAP missing left hand waveforms

Permanent link to this post Posted by rickmilan » Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:08 pm

I just learned that the part of the display next to the place the waveforms appear where the piano keys are show is also controlled by the Set A Scale selection
that puts and X on the keys (notes) that will not be tuned to.

I checked my test signal with Audacity Analyze and I clearly have a C Major scale but no waveforms.
I have hacked 2 notes of a piano test signal to be out of pitch + or - 3-4%.
I tried C# and B, even F, nothing but it is trying to auto tune but not making large key changes. No waveforms. I noticed its not really changing keys (e.g starting with a C and going to a F). Its doing slight pitch adjustments (maybe 5%)
so maybe this is the error I need to find. Tts not making big changes and the minor minor ones dont result in waveforms.
Then I changed to factory defaults:A Cromatic which puts and X on C D#, F G and A#), but, still starts tuned result with a C.
So then I isolate 1 note, say F. Then X out F and other keys say except A. AutoTune, no pitch change.
Maybe Audacity waveform shows processing happened, but only volume was reduced.
Attachments
F note before.JPG
F note (f4
F note before.JPG (181.49 KiB) Viewed 363 times
After auto tune to A.JPG
after auto tune with only A note Xed out
After auto tune to A.JPG (179.53 KiB) Viewed 363 times
rickmilan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:57 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: AutoTune with GSNAP missing left hand waveforms

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:39 pm

Audacity does not support MIDI features (or features that depend on MIDI support) in VST plug-ins.
Audacity's MIDI features are very few - basically just importing, exporting and trimming MIDI tracks (not even play or record).
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 43628
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux Debian

Re: AutoTune with GSNAP missing left hand waveforms

Permanent link to this post Posted by rickmilan » Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:57 pm

steve wrote:Audacity does not support MIDI features (or features that depend on MIDI support) in VST plug-ins.
Audacity's MIDI features are very few - basically just importing, exporting and trimming MIDI tracks (not even play or record).

Ok thanks for the input.
rickmilan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:57 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: AutoTune with GSNAP missing left hand waveforms

Permanent link to this post Posted by rickmilan » Thu Dec 22, 2016 2:28 pm

rickmilan wrote:So then I isolate 1 note, say F. Then X out F and other keys say except A. AutoTune, no pitch change.
Maybe Audacity waveform shows processing happened, but only volume was reduced.


Found my error in the above case: Threshold setting was not high enough. Changed it to 600 cents and got the change from a single C note to F.

Still no waveforms showing next to the small keyboard left.

I wondered if waveforms only show when using GSnap as you record but I did use
GSnap during recording, it did AutoTune but still no waveforms.
I tired asking the the GSnap author in an email but no response. Must be a bug.
rickmilan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:57 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: AutoTune with GSNAP missing left hand waveforms

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu Dec 22, 2016 2:59 pm

rickmilan wrote:I did use GSnap during recording

Not with Audacity.
Audacity does not apply effects while recording. Audacity is a tool for editing and processing "off line".
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Senior Forum Staff
 
Posts: 43628
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux Debian

Re: AutoTune with GSNAP missing left hand waveforms

Permanent link to this post Posted by Gale Andrews » Thu Dec 22, 2016 3:32 pm

rickmilan wrote:
rickmilan wrote:I did use GSnap during recording, it did AutoTune but still no waveforms.

As Steve said, Audacity does not apply effects while recording. If you have the effect enabled, it may seem like it applied during recording, but it didn't.

As you have observed, there is a known bug that Audacity processing halves the volume even when the track is mono as intended. This is because Audacity is setting GSnap to stereo and then mixing in a silent right-channel for processing, so resulting in half volume in mono. So it looks like it would be better to duplicate the mono track, use the Audio Track Dropdown Menu on the upper track to "Make Stereo Track", then when you are done, use Tracks > Stereo Track to Mono.

You may get on better with Autotalent for Windows (VST) from http://www.vst4free.com/free_vst.php?plugin=Autotalent&id=842 which does not reply on MIDI tuning.


Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual
Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
 
Posts: 25987
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am
Operating System: Windows 10


Return to Making Music with Audacity



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest