First demo. Using audacity to mix.

Hello,

I recorded a demo with my band using two Zoom H4N’s. One was dedicated to guitars and bass in which we bypassed the 2 condensers by using a 3.5mm Stereo Male to Dual XLR 3 Pin Female to get 4 XLR connections.The other Zoom was dedicated to drums. The condensers were about 3 feet above my(drummer) head, and in the two XLR’s were used for a snare/rack tom mic, and a Beta 32A for the kick. The guitars and bass were all mic’d with sm57’s.

Once we finished recording I dropped all of the tracks into Audacity. This is my first attempt at using it to mix tracks so any ideas and tips you have would be great.

https://www.dropbox.com/home?preview=Maria+DRAFT+4.mp3

Thanks!

That link may work for you when logged into DropBox , but it won’t work for anyone else.
You need a shareable link to that mp3 on DropBox , shareable links have this format …

Oh, crap.

Here you go!

https://www.dropbox.com/s/4usop9c70n0anvl/Maria%20DRAFT%204.mp3?dl=0

IMO it benefits from [dynamic range] compression
before-after compression settings shown.gif
compression settings used.png
You may have to leave ~1dB headroom when making an MP3 in Audacity , otherwise clipping may occur on the mp3 file.

Thank you!

The reason I posted this as an mp3 is to have the file size a bit smaller. I will use the compression effects and re post a link later this evening.

Can you give some more specs?
I’d like to know how many tracks all in all and which are stereo.
Are there some vocals planned as well?

First mixing step
High pass filter on all tracks except kick and bass.
At around 120 to 200 Hz and with a roll-off of about 12 dB (higher slopes can cause resonances around the cut-off frequency)
the cut-off for kick and bass is of course much lower, let us say 40 Hz. and they might
also profit from a low pass filter with 6 dB/octave at about 500 Hz (kick) and higher for bass.

Second step:
-Normalization. I use -10 dB usually but I’ve got plenty of tracks though.