Plugins go to ~/Library... is problematic

Feedback and Reviews for Audacity 2.x

This board is ONLY for general feedback and discussion about Audacity 2.X.

If you require help, or think you have found a "bug", please post on the forum board relevant to your operating system.
Windows
Mac OS X
GNU/Linux and Unix-like

Plugins go to ~/Library... is problematic

Permanent link to this post Posted by bryanzak17 » Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:39 pm

So this change is problematic:

If you delete the Audacity folder from a previous installation, remember to move any optional plug-ins you added to its plug-ins folder to the new Audacity Plug-Ins folder at ~/Library/Application Support/audacity/Plug-Ins.

I am an admin for edu and our students all use AD accounts. So now I have to install multiple copies of plugins for every user that logs in or might login?

Is the root library supported as well? /Library/Application Support/audacity/Plug-Ins ?

Please say yes :)
bryanzak17

Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Plugins go to ~/Library... is problematic

Permanent link to this post Posted by Gale Andrews » Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:47 pm

Do you want to add custom plugins? If not, just proceed as before.

If you want to add custom plugins, what is the format of the custom plugins you want to add - VST, LADSPA or Nyquist?

All plugin formats except Nyquist have a system plugin location that can be used - please see Installing Effect, Generator and Analyzer plug-ins on Mac OS X/macOS. On GNU/Linux Audacity does recognise system locations for Nyquist plugins, but not as far as I know on Mac or Windows.

/Library/Application Support/audacity/Plug-Ins is not supported.