Page 1 of 1

breaking recorded track

Permanent link to this postPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 6:55 pm
Posted by fretski
For unknown reasons the recorded track has gaps in it. To fix I usually get away with just merely changing the *buffer-length* in preferences/devices. It doesn't really matter if it's a + or a - change. The condition most often materializes on first use but not invariably.

breaking-130-40.mp3
(413.63 KiB) Downloaded 4 times


breaking-not-129-40.mp3
(320.06 KiB) Downloaded 4 times


These sample files have in their name the Buffer-Length and the Track-Shift.
Suse-Tumbleweed/Audacity -2.2.0, amd-8-core, 16gb ram.

Re: breaking recorded track

Permanent link to this postPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 7:46 pm
Posted by fredex
I've had similar results when something was hogging most of the cores on my CPU. It could be anything, but in my case I was running Folding At Home on 5 of the 6 cores. Simply pausing it solved the problem.

Re: breaking recorded track

Permanent link to this postPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:48 am
Posted by fretski
fredex wrote:I've had similar results when something was hogging most of the cores on my CPU. It could be anything, but in my case I was running Folding At Home on 5 of the 6 cores. Simply pausing it solved the problem.


I know what you mean I've seen similar problems while using rosegarden but is this case qJackctl is really the only other app running.

*i forgot BTW that qJackctl is running in this case also*

What seems suspect is that any tiny change in the buffer size, up or down at that, fixes it. It's almost as if some default or initial value was wrong and as soon as another one replaces it the problem vanishes, or maybe some sort of rescan takes place that didn't take place the same way initially. I'm no guru so I can only take the wildest of unfounded guesses.