Noise removal using stored noise profile

Hi all!
I am not an Audacity expert at all.

Recently I had to record a lot of Desktop sessions (with me speaking and explaining), and no matter what, I end up with a lot of background noise.
I found the noise removal audacity tool to be just perfect for my needs (I think it’s just some form of electronic noise, so the tool is very efficient).

But the whole process is a bit long:

1. open file with audacity
  2. select region for noise analysis, and analyze it
  3. apply noise reduction
  4. export audio file, for example as .mp3
  5. open original video with kdenlive
  6. split video / audio
  7. delete old audio, put in new audio cleaned with audacity at step 4
  8. export everything as .mp4

Since the noise profile is alwasy the same (same laptop, same mic, same software) is there a way to store the noise profile in some way?
In a perfect world it would be supernice to export the noise profile and then using it from batch, with some switch like “–noise-profile=noise1.prof --reduce-noise=24dB” (just to give you an idea).

In this way I could script the entire process…

Thank you!

I believe Audacity holds onto the last known good noise profile. So if nothing changes, you should only have to get the profile once.

Try it. Don’t make a new profile. The second and third, etc corrections should continue to be useful.

Several tools work like that. If you open the Equalizer, you should see the last curve you used.

Post a sound test. We may be able to do corrections some other way—or tell you where it’s coming from. Blue Yeti microphones have a particular noise that takes a custom tool we made rather than struggle with Noise Reduction.

https://forum.audacityteam.org/t/how-to-post-an-audio-sample/29851/1

Koz

export audio file, for example as .mp3