need speed

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on GNU/Linux.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on GNU/Linux and Unix-like operating systems.
Please state which version of Linux you are using, the exact three-section version number of Audacity from Help > About Audacity... and whether you installed your distribution's release or daily version of Audacity or compiled Audacity from source code.

Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Re: need speed

Permanent link to this post Posted by autodctr » Sun Jul 30, 2017 6:25 pm

I did not see any xruns reported. I am recording from a Allen & Heath QU32 mixer board via USB cable. Even at 2 channels, I get the buzzing. If I switch to analog and record the output from the headphone jack, all is good.

Right now, I am using a 2.8 dual core with 4 gig RAM. Today with task manager running, I never used over 800 meg RAM, 20% CPU. This is the 4th different machine I have tried. Ubuntu Studio and Xubuntu, both in 32 and 64 bit, same issue.

I could easily resign myself to saying that it can't be done and stop there. It just keeps bugging me that it worked flawlessly on an older version of Audacity and Xubuntu. And, on lesser machines. In fact, it STILL had worked on the older version, but I could not take a recording made on the older version and properly edit on a newer version: it would jump ahead 20 - 30 seconds when I would press the PLAY button. (That started about a month ago. It would play fine on the old version however.)
autodctr
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 2:01 pm
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: need speed

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Sun Jul 30, 2017 11:18 pm

This does not add up.
When using Jack, Audacity and the recording source are effectively isolated from each other.
"Hardware -> ALSA -> Jack = constant audio stream"
Audacity then taps into that audio stream, and has no interaction with ALSA or the hardware.

This would indicate that the noise is present in the audio stream, which has come from the hardware via ALSA.

The bit that does not add up, is that if this is the case, then you should get the same (bad) result whatever program you use for recording :?

autodctr wrote:it worked flawlessly on an older version of Audacity and Xubuntu

Which version of Audacity?
Was this using the same or different hardware?

Something you could try is installing Ardour, and run a test recording with that. If you get a good recording, then the problem is Audacity. If you get the same problem, then the problem is either hardware or drivers.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 44458
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: need speed

Permanent link to this post Posted by autodctr » Mon Jul 31, 2017 10:27 am

The older Audacity was 2.0.?: the last release available with Ubuntu 14.04. When I upgraded that machine to 16.04 and got the subsequent updated Audacity, the problem began. I tried everything then: reinstalled several Linux versions on several machines: all with exactly the same problem. I then tried adding a second drive: used second drive just for putting the temp file on thinking that the HD would be freer to record on. Even looked for a 7,200 with the largest cache I had. Then, went to a fast SSD drive and verified the write speed. Still no luck.

Xubuntu 14.04 with Audacity 2.0.? worked on 3 different machines all with a single HD. 2.1.2 has not worked on 4 different machines.

Again, recording from the head phone jack is perfect. 2 tracks (or more) via USB gives me the same problem. 2 tracks or 18 tracks, same problem, same frequency of problem.

This all started out with the church wanting to put the weekly sermon on the website. At first, I recorded it analog since the mixer board was analog. Then we got the QU32 board which was digital. While reading the manual on the board, I saw where it had a USB port for outputting the first 18 channels in a digital format. I thought that was great and started looking for a program to use. Since I was already using Audacity, I figured I would try it. And it worked great. That is when I started to record the music just to see what I could do with it later, like mixing it to get better balance, adding effects when needed. Again, it worked flawlessly and even impressed the fellow that originally came out to set the board up for us.

Understand this is not something that I need to do, rather something I enjoyed doing. Now, there is no joy since it doesn't work.

Steve, I thank you much for all your help. But, I am just going to give up for now. I don't like getting frustrated at church, and that is what is happening. Time to forget about it. I can still do the sermon, and that is all that I actually need to do.

Thanks again.
autodctr
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 2:01 pm
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: need speed

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Mon Jul 31, 2017 11:02 am

autodctr wrote:The older Audacity was 2.0.?: the last release available with Ubuntu 14.04.

That would have been Audacity 2.0.5-1ubuntu3 (https://packages.ubuntu.com/trusty/audacity).
There should be no compatibility problems for projects created with that version being opened in the current 2.1.3 version of Audacity (I was previously using Xubuntu 14.04 and now use Xubuntu 16.04).

autodctr wrote:2 tracks or 18 tracks, same problem, same frequency of problem

A good indication that the problem is not due to speed. If it were, then one would expect 18 tracks to be MUCH worse than 2 tracks because there is 9x as much data.

autodctr wrote:Time to forget about it. I can still do the sermon, and that is all that I actually need to do.

So will you be doing that as a 2 channel recording through your normal sound card?

I'm pleased that you have a usable workaround, and I don't wish to cause you stress, but as you said, it would be great if you could get the 18 tracks working, and there's still a few things that we could look at if you are prepared to stay with us for a bit longer. If you'd prefer to just leave it, then no problem, just let me know and we can either carry on for a bit longer and try to identify the root cause (while you use your workaround for the actual sermon recordings), or I can close the topic.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 44458
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: need speed

Permanent link to this post Posted by autodctr » Mon Jul 31, 2017 11:19 am

"So will you be doing that as a 2 channel recording through your normal sound card?"

Yes: that works fine. And being a digital board, the background noise is negligible.

"I'm pleased that you have a usable workaround, and I don't wish to cause you stress, but as you said, it would be great if you could get the 18 tracks working, and there's still a few things that we could look at if you are prepared to stay with us for a bit longer. If you'd prefer to just leave it, then no problem, just let me know and we can either carry on for a bit longer and try to identify the root cause (while you use your workaround for the actual sermon recordings), or I can close the topic."

I am willing to experiment with this. I have used the program for free and have put over 600 LPs and cassette tapes to MP3 files using it. So, since I have used it probably over 1,000 times for free, I am willing to try whatever you would like me to try in hopes of getting it to work for me, and hopefully getting it to work for someone else having the same problem. I know that after 4 different machines and 4 different installations, it is no longer something that is my fault. :-)

Again, many thanks for your help.
autodctr
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 2:01 pm
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: need speed

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Mon Jul 31, 2017 12:05 pm

autodctr wrote:I know that after 4 different machines and 4 different installations, it is no longer something that is my fault. :-)

:D Heh, I'd already come to that conclusion.
Glad to hear that you're willing to help - there's no rush with this, so at your convenience.

First, let's gather some information:

1) With the QU32 connected to your computer, Audacity "Help menu > Audio Device Info". Wait for the info screen to appear, then click the "Save" button, and save the "deviceinfo.txt" somewhere that you can easily find it. Attach the "deviceinfo.txt" file to your post (see here for how to attach files to forum posts: https://forum.audacityteam.org/viewtopi ... 49&t=64936)

2) When you get the noise, is it the same noise at the same time in all tracks? If so, select a few seconds of that noise in ONE track, plus a couple of seconds from before the noise, then "File > Export Selected Audio" and export as a WAV file. Attach that WAV file to your reply. (the forum will accept WAV files at 44100 Hz sample rate up to about 6 seconds stereo / 12 seconds mono).
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 44458
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: need speed

Permanent link to this post Posted by autodctr » Mon Jul 31, 2017 1:33 pm

1) With the QU32 connected to your computer, Audacity "Help menu > Audio Device Info". Wait for the info screen to appear, then click the "Save" button, and save the "deviceinfo.txt" somewhere that you can easily find it. Attach the "deviceinfo.txt" file to your post (see here for how to attach files to forum posts: https://forum.audacityteam.org/viewtopi ... 49&t=64936)

I will do that. Just keep in mind that it will be next week before you get it.

2) When you get the noise, is it the same noise at the same time in all tracks? If so, select a few seconds of that noise in ONE track, plus a couple of seconds from before the noise, then "File > Export Selected Audio" and export as a WAV file. Attach that WAV file to your reply. (the forum will accept WAV files at 44100 Hz sample rate up to about 6 seconds stereo / 12 seconds mono).

If you go back to the beginning of this thread, I did link in my previous post about this problem and I had uploaded 2 wav files than. You can listen to them because they are identical to what I get now. (I checked: they are still available for d-l.) It appears across all tracks. Fades in, fades out, repeats about every 2 minutes.
autodctr
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 2:01 pm
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: need speed

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Mon Jul 31, 2017 1:46 pm

autodctr wrote:I will do that. Just keep in mind that it will be next week before you get it.

No problem.

autodctr wrote:If you go back to the beginning of this thread, I did link in my previous post about this problem and I had uploaded 2 wav files than

Ah, found them in your previous topic. I presume that these are the ones: viewtopic.php?p=307537#p307537

---------------------

By the way, to quote a section from a previous post, the forum has "smart tag" buttons above the message composing box.
If you click on the "Quote" button, it will enter "quote tags" into the message at the cursor position like this:
Code: Select all
[quote][quote]

You can then paste the text that you want to quote between the [quote] and [/quote] like this:
Code: Select all
[quote]quoted text goes here[/quote]

which then displays in a more easily readable form like this:
quoted text goes here


You can also select part of a previous post from the same page, and click the "Quote" button that is at the top right corner of that post, and it will insert that selected text into your message at the cursor position, like this:
Code: Select all
[quote="steve"]1) With the QU32 connected to your computer,[/quote]

steve wrote:1) With the QU32 connected to your computer,
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 44458
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: need speed

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:42 pm

autodctr wrote:I had uploaded 2 wav files

That's interesting, and I think confirms that the problem is not related to speed of writing to disk. As you can see from this close-up of the waveform, there is corruption of the digital data. Those spikes are too abrupt to be caused in the analog domain, indicating again that it is most probably hardware or drivers.

firsttrack000.png
firsttrack000.png (12.07 KiB) Viewed 331 times


What I would ideally want to do at this point is to connect either a Windows machine or a Mac so that we can confirm or rule out drivers. If the problem is not drivers, then I'd be hunting down my receipt to see if the Qu32 has any warranty. My feeling is that the problem is not drivers, as Google shows several Linux users with this desk, and no mention of this problem.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 44458
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: need speed

Permanent link to this post Posted by autodctr » Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:38 pm

I have thought of that, too. But, why does it work in 2.0.? It worked in that until a month ago. In fact, it still works in that, but I am unable to record in 2.0 and reliably play it back and edit it in 2.1. That problem started a month ago.
autodctr
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2016 2:01 pm
Operating System: Linux *buntu

PreviousNext

Return to GNU/Linux and Unix-like



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests