Equalization UI

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on GNU/Linux.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on GNU/Linux and Unix-like operating systems.
Please state which version of Linux you are using, the exact three-section version number of Audacity from Help > About Audacity... and whether you installed your distribution's release or daily version of Audacity or compiled Audacity from source code.

Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Equalization UI

Permanent link to this post Posted by golinux » Sun Feb 05, 2017 9:16 pm

I rather recently moved from using Audacity on Squeeze to Audacity on Devuan Jessie. There are two things in the equalization UI that are different. Also one global UI change.

1. In Squeeze, the last selected curve remained selected the next time I went to select an option. I found that very handy. Why? Because I am forgetful and usually can't remember the last curve selected - especially if my workflow gets broken! Now every time I open Equalization it is a flatline. Is there a place to tell it to retain the last used curve as the default?

2. The Squeeze curves were also the nice blue line. The curves I imported from Squeeze now look like a coil even though the 'Draw Curves' option is selected. When I click on that option the line changes to the blue but the setting doesn't stick. Next custom curve is a coil again. I have tried re-saving but no joy.

3. For all the effects (and perhaps elsewhere), the X in the title bar is non functional to close a window. Am forced to close with 'Cancel'. Not a biggie but tell my reflexes that.

Are these annoyances solvable? Thanks.

golinux
golinux
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 4:06 am
Location: linuxland
Operating System: GNU/Linux other

Re: Equalization UI

Permanent link to this post Posted by Trebor » Sun Feb 05, 2017 9:41 pm

golinux wrote:Now every time I open Equalization it is a flatline. Is there a place to tell it to retain the last used curve as the default?

If you update to the most recent version of Audacity that problem has been solved.

golinux wrote: ... The Squeeze curves were also the nice blue line. The curves I imported from Squeeze now look like a coil even though the 'Draw Curves' option is selected.

Try adjusting the "length of filter" slider in Audacity's equalizer GUI : that can cause a green coil-y line to appear ...

Adjusting filter length demo.gif
click on this image to see it in its entity
Adjusting filter length demo.gif (674.24 KiB) Viewed 328 times
Trebor
 
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2008 5:22 pm
Operating System: Windows Vista

Re: Equalization UI

Permanent link to this post Posted by golinux » Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:46 pm

Thanks, Trebor.

Trebor wrote:
golinux wrote:Now every time I open Equalization it is a flatline. Is there a place to tell it to retain the last used curve as the default?

If you update to the most recent version of Audacity that problem has been solved.

Unfortunately, not in Jessie backports. Will see if it's in ascii (stretch) later.

Trebor wrote:
golinux wrote: ... The Squeeze curves were also the nice blue line. The curves I imported from Squeeze now look like a coil even though the 'Draw Curves' option is selected.

Try adjusting the "length of filter" slider in Audacity's equalizer GUI : that can cause a green coil-y line to appear ...

No green coil here. It's blue! Changing the 'Length of Filter' setting looked weird and didn't restore that blue line.

Image

If I click on 'Draw Curves' it changes to this which is what I'm used to seeing but loses the filter name. I've tried resaving it but it still reverts to the blue coil.

Image

Thoughts?
golinux
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 4:06 am
Location: linuxland
Operating System: GNU/Linux other

Re: Equalization UI

Permanent link to this post Posted by Gale Andrews » Mon Feb 06, 2017 2:06 am

golinux wrote:If I click on 'Draw Curves' it changes to this which is what I'm used to seeing but loses the filter name. I've tried resaving it but it still reverts to the blue coil.
Image

Stay in the one mode rather than switching, because the modes are not identical. A curve created in Draw Curves, then switched to Graphic EQ and back to Draw Curves will acquire many more control points.

In "Graphic EQ" mode, built-in presets will display as "unnamed" because they were built using the differently calculated "Draw curves" mode.

Your own saved presets will always display with their saved name if loaded in the same mode you saved them in. In "Graphic EQ" mode, only presets saved in that mode will display with their saved name. In "Draw Curves" mode, a curve created in "Graphic EQ" mode can be displayed as its saved name if loaded from within "Draw Curves". If that curve is loaded in "Graphic EQ" mode and then switched to "Draw Curves", it will display as "unnamed".


Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual
Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
 
Posts: 26093
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Equalization UI

Permanent link to this post Posted by golinux » Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:43 pm

Gale Andrews wrote:Stay in the one mode rather than switching, because the modes are not identical. A curve created in Draw Curves, then switched to Graphic EQ and back to Draw Curves will acquire many more control points.

In "Graphic EQ" mode, built-in presets will display as "unnamed" because they were built using the differently calculated "Draw curves" mode.

Well, in Squeeze's Audacity those presets looked identical in either mode so I had no idea of the subtle differences between them. I can't even remember how I built them - it was so many years ago. But I must have done it in Graphic EQ mode since they display correctly there.

Gale Andrews wrote:Your own saved presets will always display with their saved name if loaded in the same mode you saved them in. In "Graphic EQ" mode, only presets saved in that mode will display with their saved name. In "Draw Curves" mode, a curve created in "Graphic EQ" mode can be displayed as its saved name if loaded from within "Draw Curves". If that curve is loaded in "Graphic EQ" mode and then switched to "Draw Curves", it will display as "unnamed".

I have switched back and forth between those two options and loaded several of my presets and they always display with the correct name unless I make an adjustment to the filter. Then the name switches to unnamed.

At least they still work in either mode. :)

Thanks for the detailed explanation, Gale.
golinux
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 4:06 am
Location: linuxland
Operating System: GNU/Linux other


Return to GNU/Linux and Unix-like



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests