Inactive input level slider

Hi the experts, and happy new year!

I am new with both Linux and Audacity (before I used Windows and Goldwave). English is not my native language :wink:

I have installed Audacity and PulseAudio, as I wish to record and treat radio stream. Though I have now found a way to act in the input volume level, via the PulseAudio volume control program, I am annoyed by the fact that the input level sliding potentiometer on the Audacity dashboard appears to be dead: blocked in extreme right position and impossible to move.

How can I solve that problem, keeping in mind that I am not an expert in programming and so onā€¦

After that I will come again with a matter of tooltip characters colour (white on pale grey is far from idealā€¦)

Thanks in advance and best regards :slight_smile:

The recording level slider is deliberately disabled because our PortAudio and PortMixer interfaces donā€™t (yet) properly support PulseAudio, and ALSA-libā€™s PulseAudio plugin doesnā€™t support its mixer control. This means that if the Audacity recording level slider was enabled, all it would do is scale down an excessively loud (clipped) signal, merely making the distortion quieter. That would be dangerous and misleading.

What version of Ubuntu and Audacity are you using?

I suggest you install PulseAudio Volume Control (pavucontrol) from your repository if you have not already done so, then you can select the input and control its level there.

Or choose the (hw) device as recording device in Audacityā€™s Device Toolbar instead of choosing the pulse recording device, assuming you are recording a physical radio. Then hopefully the Audacity recording level slider would ungrey.

If you are recording internet radio, see this article: Recording Computer Playback on Linux.

Gale

Thanks for your quick answer, which gives a clear reason to my problem! I do listen webradios, so I understand that for the time being I must manage without that sliderā€¦ No problem.