Constant Bit Rate Export Problem

I think I’ve been doing this for about 5 years or so. I always did this in Windows and in the last year or so I started doing it in Linux.

Currently I’m running Linux Mint 17.3 xfce 64 bit. I’m running Audacity 2.1.2. Last night I upgraded it in hopes that it would somehow solve my problem. It did not. Headphones I use is the Koss UR40. I use the Sandisk Sansa Clip + and I have rockbox installed.

This all started several weeks ago.

Usually when I buy mp3s I download them from Amazon. Then Unzip them and after that I load all of them up into Audacity. Next I export them as a 128 constant bit rate files. I make all of them stereo. Over all of these years I’ve never touched any of the encoder settings. I don’t make it go faster or slower. Everything is on default.

After I get done doing that I load all my mp3s into a tag program. If it’s windows then I used Mp3tag, and if it’s in Linux I use Puddletag. After getting the tags the way I like them, I just copy and paste the songs onto my player.

I want whoever reads this to realize that I understand that the higher the bit rate = higher quality and the lower bit rate = lower quality. But through many listenings I had decided that 128 is alright for the equipment and the condition of my hearing. (Whatever condition my ears might be in)

I listen to mainly Hard Rock, Metal, Alternative, and some Celtic music.