Override default "new track" on stop?

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on GNU/Linux.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on GNU/Linux and Unix-like operating systems.
Please state which version of Linux you are using, the exact three-section version number of Audacity from Help > About Audacity... and whether you installed your distribution's release or daily version of Audacity or compiled Audacity from source code.

Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Override default "new track" on stop?

Permanent link to this post Posted by senlin » Wed Jun 13, 2012 1:18 am

Just wondering, is it possible to configure Audacity *not* to drop down to a new track on 'stop'? I know it is possible to 'pause', which keeps you on the same track...but is there any way (clean or hack) to get it to continue recording on the same line after a stop?

Generally, this isn't a big deal, but I'm working with a friend who does massive amounts of sound dubbing, for whom this is a Deal Breaker. He is currently using Adobe Audition 1.5, which does the job fairly well...but it's Adobe software (=$$, among other problems) and it's OLD. He would like to be able to use Audacity, but his work involves a lot of preset tracks and files, and when he (accidentally?) hits stop, the active track needs to remain the same. He said that although he loved Audacity otherwise, it just got old real fast 're-compiling/joining' tracks that got split by a stop.

If it's simply not possible without hacking a bunch of source code, I'll just drop the issue. (shrugs) ...but I'm pretty sure someone out there has done it before.

Any ideas, please share. Thanx!

Geoff

Fedora 17
Audacity 2.0.0 (Unicode)
senlin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 2:59 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Override default "new track" on stop?

Permanent link to this post Posted by Gale Andrews » Wed Jun 13, 2012 1:45 am

Transport > Append Record (see http://manual.audacityteam.org/help/man ... tml#append ).


Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual
Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
 
Posts: 26093
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Override default "new track" on stop?

Permanent link to this post Posted by senlin » Wed Jun 13, 2012 3:54 am

Gale Andrews wrote:Transport > Append Record (see http://manual.audacityteam.org/help/man ... tml#append ).


(small) Oh..ok! :oops: (Why is easy stuff so hard to find sometimes...I googled long and hard for that!)

Thanks, Gale!

Geoff
senlin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 2:59 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Override default "new track" on stop?

Permanent link to this post Posted by senlin » Wed Jun 13, 2012 4:41 am

One more small question...

Is there any way to make "Append" the default?
senlin
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 2:59 pm
Operating System: Please select

Re: Override default "new track" on stop?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:12 am

senlin wrote:One more small question...

Is there any way to make "Append" the default?

You can modify/customise the keyboard shortcuts http://manual.audacityteam.org/help/man ... ences.html
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 44458
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Override default "new track" on stop?

Permanent link to this post Posted by Gale Andrews » Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:35 am

senlin wrote:Why is easy stuff so hard to find sometimes...I googled long and hard for that!

Not sure - "append" is probably not a term many would search for, but "Audacity record end same track" finds it OK:
http://tinyurl.com/ckvb9rx .

I made a note to consider adding a Frequently Asked Question for this, possibly also dealing with how to do "punch-in" recordings to replace audio in the middle of a track. Audacity cannot do that automatically.

senlin wrote:One more small question...
Is there any way to make "Append" the default?

Steve's suggestion will work fine for making the R shortcut do Append-Record instead of Record (clear the existing R for Record first).

If you want a way to make the Record button do Append-Record (without the SHIFT modifier) please ask and we'll add your vote.



Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual
Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
 
Posts: 26093
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am
Operating System: Windows 10

Re: Override default "new track" on stop?

Permanent link to this post Posted by jerome187 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:39 pm

i would like to vote for feature to make append record by default an option.

if no one wants to attempt to add this feature in, I could possibly give it a go. I am a software engineer by trade, I'm not very familiar with GTK (this is what its written in right?) but that can change. I am familiar with C and C++ though. By no means am I an ultra expert, but I know how to get around well enough and even implement and use some OOP principals..
jerome187
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:43 pm
Operating System: Windows 7

Re: Override default "new track" on stop?

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Thu Jun 15, 2017 7:10 pm

jerome187 wrote:i would like to vote for feature to make append record by default an option.

It is looking like append record will be the default in the next release. It is the default in the current alpha code.

jerome187 wrote:if no one wants to attempt to add this feature in, I could possibly give it a go. I am a software engineer by trade, I'm not very familiar with GTK (this is what its written in right?) but that can change. I am familiar with C and C++ though. By no means am I an ultra expert, but I know how to get around well enough and even implement and use some OOP principals..

Although this particular feature has been done, feel free to have a go at another feature enhancement or bug fix.

Audacity is written almost entirely in C++ using WxWidgets toolkit (https://www.wxwidgets.org/).

I'm not sure why this topic is in the Linux section, but I see you are on Windows, so if you want to try building Audacity from the source code, I'd suggest you look at the information on the discussion page of the wiki here: http://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/Talk: ... On_Windows (This information is a bit more up to date than the main page, but is still "work in progress")
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 44458
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: Override default "new track" on stop?

Permanent link to this post Posted by Gale Andrews » Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:07 am

steve wrote:I'm not sure why this topic is in the Linux section, but I see you are on Windows, so if you want to try building Audacity from the source code, I'd suggest you look at the information on the discussion page of the wiki here: http://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/Talk: ... On_Windows (This information is a bit more up to date than the main page, but is still "work in progress")

Once again, the main article page is not meant to be a substitute for compile.txt. It is compile.txt that may need to be updated.

You will still need to read the main article page otherwise you probably won't be able to find the correct version of Visual Studio to dosnload. That download information *should* be put in compile.txt, given we still use a very old version of Visual Studio.


Gale
________________________________________FOR INSTANT HELP: (Click on Link below)
* * * * * Tips * * * * * Tutorials * * * * * Quick Start Guide * * * * * Audacity Manual
Gale Andrews
Quality Assurance
 
Posts: 26093
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 12:02 am
Operating System: Windows 10


Return to GNU/Linux and Unix-like



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests