Audacity 2.2.1 & zoom H2n mic/recorder

Hello, I am new to audacity and trying to connect my zoom H2n mic but it doesn’t seem to be recognized. I went through and downloaded the lame plug in and it was actually working last night and the zoom was recognized, but now when I try to use it today I only get the built in mic again. I have reloaded lame and done what I think I can but nothing is working. Any ideas? thank you

The LAME plugin has nothing to do with Audacity recognizing the Zoom. LAME is for exporting MP3 files.

Please have a look at this page and see if it helps.

– Bill

My H2 has a setting that makes the built-in microphone(s) available as a USB microphone. Without that setting, the H2 will appear as a USB storage device for transferring sound files. That’s how they got around doing two different jobs with one connection.

Koz

A quick note: It’s very highly recommended you record high quality performances by not using the computer. If you look over all the problems people have recording good quality audiobook or other performance works, the initial days of troubleshooting have to do with beating the computer into submission. You should be able to walk up to the H2n in a quiet, echo free room and start recording your work. Maybe choosing which microphone pattern you need. Done.

Mac people tend not to worry about this, but if you find you have computer noise in your location, you can move the H2n to a new location or separate the two with almost no effort. The computer people start to worry about USB cable length and connection problems.

If your job is on-line communication, then you’re stuck. But even if you’re doing game commentary, I’d be tempted to record on the H2n and sync it up later. Two sound programs, game and Audacity don’t always get along together on the same computer.

Koz