Says I can't open due to duplicate already running

I’m embarrassed that I’m so clueless but am so stuck!!!
I’m on a brand-new MacBook Pro High Sierra 10.13.2 and was on Audacity 2.2.1 (The newest one). I’m a beginner and this was installed during a one- day class in December. I used it a couple of times, and when I tried to open it today it says:
“The system has detected that another copy of Audacity is running. Running two copies of Audacity simultaneously may cause data loss or cause your system to crash. Use the New or One commands in the currently running Audacity process to open multiple projects simultaneously.”

But I couldn’t find another copy it anywhere nor open the one I usually use [from my dock]. I searched for everything ‘Audacity’ thru my Finder and eventually in frustration deleted anything that said Audacity, looked similar, including my desktop folders where I had already made some samples in and after class. I thought if I deleted everything “Audacity” and reinstalled it fresh, it would solve the problem…NOPE!
But, now it gives me the same message and I’m not even sure if I have everything on there correctly (I do see a new icon and pinned it to my dock). I even rebooted the computer.

Of course, I have to submit a recording tomorrow and have been trying to figure this out for almost 2 hours. YES, I am very technically challenged/ignorant. Would appreciate any help possible. I’m on the verge of tears. Thank you!!!

This is one of the corrections of that problem. I don’t know if it’s current.

It can occur when your computer shuts down incorrectly.

https://forum.audacityteam.org/t/audacity-is-already-running-error-solved/40481/1

Koz

Thanks so much for the reply! I’m going to have to continue with this tomorrow. I’m going nuts.

Hello, the same thing has happened to me. I’ve gotten as far as the audacity.cfg file in text edit, but there’s no code/line underneath.