Muting in-built mic?

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of macOS you are using,
and the exact three-section version of Audacity from "Audacity menu > About Audacity".


Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

Muting in-built mic?

Permanent link to this post Posted by ColStaff » Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:55 pm

Operating on Mac OS 10.13.3 and Audacity 2.2.1
When copying from USB deck (Audio-Technica) I am unable to mute the built-in mic. When set to "Mute" in "Audio Devices" it reverts to live when I start to record.
I therefore get background noise behind an otherwise good recording.
Is there a simple solution to this problem as this is my first experience with Audacity?
Thanks.
ColStaff
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:27 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Muting in-built mic?

Permanent link to this post Posted by billw58 » Tue Jan 30, 2018 4:03 pm

In the Device Toolbar, set Recording Device to "USB Audio CODEC".
-- Bill
billw58
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 3651
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 am
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Muting in-built mic?

Permanent link to this post Posted by ColStaff » Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:28 am

Hi Bill, Thanks for your response. In AUDIO MIDI SETUP-AUDIO DEVICES I have selected USB AUDIO CODEC 2 as the input by clicking on the GEAR ICON at the bottom left. The mic symbol moved from BUILT IN INPUT to USB AUDIO CODEC 2, but the microphone is still active.
ColStaff
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:27 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Muting in-built mic?

Permanent link to this post Posted by billw58 » Wed Jan 31, 2018 5:00 pm

OK. Now select USB AUDIO CODEC 2 in Audacity's Device Toolbar.
-- Bill
billw58
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 3651
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 am
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Muting in-built mic?

Permanent link to this post Posted by ColStaff » Fri Feb 02, 2018 5:07 pm

Hi Bill, The only available options when I open Audacity are Core Audio, Built-in Input, 1 or 2 Stereo & Built-in Output.
ColStaff
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:27 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Muting in-built mic?

Permanent link to this post Posted by billw58 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 1:42 am

First confirm that USB AUDIO CODEC 2 is available in System Preferences / Sound / Input.

Then start Audacity and see if it is available as a recording device in Device Toolbar.

I have never heard of a case where an input showed up in System Sound Preferences and was not available in Audacity.

-- Bill
billw58
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 3651
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 am
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Muting in-built mic?

Permanent link to this post Posted by ColStaff » Sat Feb 03, 2018 10:25 am

Hi Again Bill,
Yes, Codec 1 shows for output & Codec 2 for input on both Sound & Audio Device panes.
I spent 40 minutes yesterday on line with Apple Support. He tried every possible combination of likely settings and checked out my MacBook. He found no fault and came to the conclusion that there maybe is a problem in the Audacity Software or a compatibility issue with the Turntable. I then spoke to Audio-Technica Product Support who are going to send me 2 Videos on setup to see if they might highlight something when I go thro' those procedures.
Thanks again,
ColStaff.
ColStaff
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:27 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Muting in-built mic?

Permanent link to this post Posted by ColStaff » Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:24 am

Hello Bill,
I got the videos from Audio-Technica which confirmed the installation & setup were done correctly.
In case I had a faulty download I have deleted & re-installed Audacity 2.2.1 but it has made no difference. System Preferences and AudioMIDISetup all show Codec2 input but Audacity is still not recognising it, only Built-in Input available in Audacity toolbar dropdown box.
Thanks again for your assistance in trying to resolve this problem,
ColStaff
ColStaff
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:27 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Muting in-built mic?

Permanent link to this post Posted by billw58 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 4:16 pm

Let's try resetting Audacity's preferences.
Go to ~/Library/Application Support/audacity and delete the file "audacity.cfg". The start Audacity and see if the turntable shows up in the Device Toolbar.
-- Bill
billw58
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 3651
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 am
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: Muting in-built mic?

Permanent link to this post Posted by ColStaff » Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:39 am

Have tried to find where to enter the Go To address you sent me, without success.
Can you give me a clue please.
Thanks,
ColStaff.
ColStaff
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:27 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Next

Return to Mac OS X



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests