How to record Skype and Google Hangouts

I’m new to Audacity and I’m trying to figure out how to record Skype and Google Hangout sessions. I downloaded Sound Flower and Loopback to capture the audio from the hangouts but I can’t seem to find them in my applications. I’m just wondering what’s the method when it comes to recording audio for Skype and Google hangouts.

Thanks

what’s the method when it comes to recording audio for Skype and Google hangouts.

Stop using Audacity.

Audacity is not recommended for recording Skype, Chat, Conferences or Game Commentary.

That’s the bumper-sticker reply. It is totally possible to record all those things, but most people don’t want to invest in two computers, mixers, etc. Skype in particular is not gentle or graceful when it’s running and it’s usually a digital knife fight who’s going to win.

One solution is to get each person in the show to record their own microphone and send the sound files to you for mixing into the final production. Recording local microphone usually works (but not always).

Koz

If I can’t record podcasts off of Skype and Google Hangouts, what other alternative options do I have to capture the audio?

On Mac it is possible to record Skype or Google Hangouts by creating an “Aggregate device” in the Mac “Audio MIDI Setup”, and use SoundFlower as one input, and your physical audio device as another input. Although “possible”, there are a number of drawbacks:

1. SoundFlower is obsolete, unsupported, and not always stable.
  2. Setting up a working Aggregate device with SoundFlower is not particularly easy, and is beyond the scope of this forum.
  3. Even if you get it all working, the sound quality of the remote voice is likely to be poor,
  4. You may find that the real device and SoundFlower “fight” with each other - with each trying to grab control of the aggregate device and blocking the other.

Alternative approaches: