I can move selection between tracks - but how then to split?

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of OS X you are using, the exact three-section version of Audacity from Audacity > About Audacity and whether you obtained the .dmg installer or the zip.

Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

I can move selection between tracks - but how then to split?

Permanent link to this post Posted by EricMC » Fri Sep 08, 2017 7:32 am

I discovered that I can use the up and down arrows to move between tracks, apparently keeping the selection point at exactly the same place in each.

I would love then to be able to hit Cmd+I in order to split the second track at exactly the same point.

But I find that Audacity does not treat it like a selection point: at any rate, I cannot use Cmd+I until I actively click in that track — and, more often than not, when I click in the second track, the selection will not be at exactly the same place as in the track above (or below).

Any ideas whether I can tell Audacity to select the same point in a different track without using the mouse?
EricMC
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:46 am
Operating System: Please select

Re: I can move selection between tracks - but how then to sp

Permanent link to this post Posted by steve » Fri Sep 08, 2017 9:09 am

The up / down keys move "track focus" (indicated by yellow border to the track).
To toggle the selection on/off for the track that has focus, press "Enter".

Cmd + i , like most other commands, operates on the selected audio.
9/10 questions are answered in the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
steve
Site Admin
 
Posts: 45076
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:43 am
Operating System: Linux *buntu

Re: I can move selection between tracks - but how then to sp

Permanent link to this post Posted by EricMC » Thu Nov 02, 2017 9:54 am

Works a treat.

Thanks, Steve.
EricMC
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:46 am
Operating System: Please select


Return to Mac OS X



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests