bluetooth headphones won't work

The audio out on my computer broke so I can’t use earbuds. So I tried using bluetooth headphones. Obviously they connect to my computer. But when I put the wireless bluetooth headphones for the output and attempted to play, or record, I get a message that says “Error while opening sound device. Please check the recording device settings and project sample rate” I tried looking for similar issues, but they’re all for windows. i have a Mac 10.6.8 HELP!!! :frowning:

Did you attempt to set the bluetooth headphones to the recording device? I don’t think that will work.

– Bill

So do you mean have the headphones on both the output and input? I tried that and it won’t work. I only get the message when it is in the output.

I have no experience with bluetooth headphones so I’m flying blind here.

Try this …
With Audacity not running …
Set up your bluetooth headphones in System Preferences (it seems you’ve already done that and can hear other system audio through them)
Go to Applications / Utilities and open Audio MIDI Setup
In the left pane of the Audio Devices window, click on the entry for your headphones
That entry should have a “speaker” icon beside it, indicating that it is the selected output device
If it doesn’t have the speaker icon, click on the “gear” menu at the bottom of the list and select “Use this device for sound output”
Set “Format” to “44100.0 Hz” and “2-ch 16-bit integer”
While you have Audio MIDI Setup open, similarly configure your input device.

Start Audacity and go to Audacity > Preferences
In the Devices section, set the input and output devices to match the choices you made in Audio MIDI Setup
In the Quality section, set the Default Sample Rate and Default Sample Format to match the choices you made in Audio MIDI Setup
OK Preferences, click the Record button and see what happens.

– Bill

Thats weird, there is no Audio MIDI setup on my computer. So there goes the headphones…