EDIT commands graying out

Help for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X.

ImageThis forum is for Audacity 2.x.x on Mac OS X 10.4 and later.
Please state which version of OS X you are using, the exact three-section version of Audacity from Audacity > About Audacity and whether you obtained the .dmg installer or the zip.

Audacity 1.2.x and 1.3.x are obsolete and no longer supported. If you still have those versions, please upgrade at https://www.audacityteam.org/download/.
The old forums for those versions are now closed, but you can still read the archives of the 1.2.x and 1.3.x forums.

EDIT commands graying out

Permanent link to this post Posted by Eustacce » Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:11 pm

I use MacOS Sierra, Version 10.12.5 and Audacity 2.1.2. I am attempting to copy and past sections from one track to another. Most of the time the copy command works, but when I open up the receiving track, Edit has grayed out cut, copy, and paste. What am I failing to do?
Eustacce
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:03 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: EDIT commands graying out

Permanent link to this post Posted by kozikowski » Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:16 pm

As a fuzzy rule, tools turn gray if you're in Pause or anything but Stop.

Koz
kozikowski
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 38453
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Operating System: OS X 10.9 Mavericks

Re: EDIT commands graying out

Permanent link to this post Posted by billw58 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:07 pm

As Koz points out, you must be in Stop mode to do any editing.

What do you mean by "open up the receiving track"?

If there is simply a cursor position in a track (not a selected region) then Copy and Cut will be disabled as there is nothing to Copy or Cut.

Paste may be disabled as described in this manual page if there is no room to paste the audio.

-- Bill
billw58
Forum Staff
 
Posts: 3574
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:10 am
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)

Re: EDIT commands graying out

Permanent link to this post Posted by Eustacce » Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:10 pm

Thanks so much! I knew my problem had to be a simple mistake, but I needed your help to realize what it was. Everything seems copasetic now.

Eustacce
Eustacce
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:03 pm
Operating System: OS X 10.11 El Capitan or later (macOS)


Return to Mac OS X



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests